2 Dealers cant unlock radio [Archive] - Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum

: 2 Dealers cant unlock radio


MichEnvoyBoy
05-08-2009, 09:28 PM
Ok so I sold my INR navigation to a friend a while back and installed a 6 disc BOSE stereo back into my 2002 Envoy (its the same stereo my Envoy came with). Of course, since I bought it off ebay it was locked. My friend who works at a GM dealer couldnt unlock it with his Tech 2 and recommended I bring it down to the shop one day so he can hook it up down there, instead of at home where he has no access to TIS or whatever.

Brought it in today, but to a different dealer to see if they could unlock it and they cant get it to unlock :crazy: The tech said the TECH 2 sees it, but it will not accept the VIN relearn sequence.

What gives? Any advice or help for me?

Bowhunt_Pro
05-08-2009, 09:48 PM
There is a OEM repair facility for GM in Cleveland. The name of it is Electra-sound. http://www.electrasound.com/

JBaer
05-08-2009, 09:51 PM
get an aftermarket head unit.:D

MichEnvoyBoy
05-09-2009, 01:02 PM
get an aftermarket head unit.:D

No way dude.

So anybody with TECH 2 experience or with theftlock knowledge that they'd like to share? :D

Chickenhawk
05-09-2009, 03:23 PM
Maybe it was stolen?

Would GM have the ability to block VIN relearns on known stolen units?

Sounds a bit "big brother-ish" to me, but then again eBay has been known as a good place to fence stolen electronics. It's too bad too, because many of us have used eBay to get some great deals on parts from some very professional, prompt and legitimate sellers. (Stepper motors come to mind.)

Sixpacker
05-09-2009, 07:25 PM
How to Reset GM Theft lock Radio's

Article Disclaimer: This article is meant to be used by Delco Radio owners to reset there radios. In no way is it meant to be used for any unethical or unlawful ways.

Purpose

The following instructions will allow you to reset any GM (General Motors), Cadillac, Oldsmobile, Buick, Pontiac theft lock radio.

Requirements

The theft lock radio must be in "LOC" mode.

Procedure:

1. Turn the ignition ON (The radio should display "LOC")

2. Hold down the Radio Presets 2 and 3 buttons for six seconds

3. The radio display changes from LOC to a three-digit number. Write this number down. You now have fifteen seconds to complete the next step.

4. Press the AM/FM button

5. The radio display changes to another three-digit number. Write this number to the right of the first one.

6. You now have a six-digit number, the first three digits are from STEP 03 and the last three digits are form STEP 05

7. Call 1-800-537-5140

8. Press 1 then # (pound). You'll hear "Invalid Code, try again"

9. Press 139010 or 106010 or 206010 or 202107 then # (pound). You will be asked to enter your four or six digit code followed by *

10. Enter the number from STEP 6 then *

11. Listen to the four-digit number and write it down. It will be repeated twice

12. Turn the ignition ON (The radio displays LOC)

13. Use the MN and HR buttons to enter the code from STEP 11

14. Press the AM/FM button. The radio display changes to "SEC". Your radio is now "un-locked" and usable.

Dealership Codes


139010
106010
206010
202107

Troubleshooting

If you fail to enter the correct code eight times, the radio goes into INOP mode. You have to wait an hour with the ignition on before the radio returns to LOC mode.

To Read the original article or read similar articles please visit

http://www.kingbain.com/how-to/unlock-gm-theftlock-radio-s.html

A Student at Red River College

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=John_Bain

CoyoteFireGuy
05-09-2009, 07:59 PM
^^^^^^^^^^^I doubt that will work!^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

All Bose OEM head units are VIN spacific, so you just bought yourself a very expensive paperweight. :x

MichEnvoyBoy
05-09-2009, 11:33 PM
^^^^^^^^^^^I doubt that will work!^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

All Bose OEM head units are VIN spacific, so you just bought yourself a very expensive paperweight. :x

Nope! Seller refunded me my money tonight and I ship it back Monday.

Im just going to put my Nav radio back in.

MichEnvoyBoy
05-09-2009, 11:34 PM
This is for the last generation radios, and will NOT work on RDS radios, FYI.


How to Reset GM Theft lock Radio's

Article Disclaimer: This article is meant to be used by Delco Radio owners to reset there radios. In no way is it meant to be used for any unethical or unlawful ways.

Purpose

The following instructions will allow you to reset any GM (General Motors), Cadillac, Oldsmobile, Buick, Pontiac theft lock radio.

Requirements

The theft lock radio must be in "LOC" mode.

Procedure:

1. Turn the ignition ON (The radio should display "LOC")

2. Hold down the Radio Presets 2 and 3 buttons for six seconds

3. The radio display changes from LOC to a three-digit number. Write this number down. You now have fifteen seconds to complete the next step.

4. Press the AM/FM button

5. The radio display changes to another three-digit number. Write this number to the right of the first one.

6. You now have a six-digit number, the first three digits are from STEP 03 and the last three digits are form STEP 05

7. Call 1-800-537-5140

8. Press 1 then # (pound). You'll hear "Invalid Code, try again"

9. Press 139010 or 106010 or 206010 or 202107 then # (pound). You will be asked to enter your four or six digit code followed by *

10. Enter the number from STEP 6 then *

11. Listen to the four-digit number and write it down. It will be repeated twice

12. Turn the ignition ON (The radio displays LOC)

13. Use the MN and HR buttons to enter the code from STEP 11

14. Press the AM/FM button. The radio display changes to "SEC". Your radio is now "un-locked" and usable.

Dealership Codes


139010
106010
206010
202107

Troubleshooting

If you fail to enter the correct code eight times, the radio goes into INOP mode. You have to wait an hour with the ignition on before the radio returns to LOC mode.

To Read the original article or read similar articles please visit

http://www.kingbain.com/how-to/unlock-gm-theftlock-radio-s.html

A Student at Red River College

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=John_Bain

Sixpacker
05-10-2009, 12:15 AM
You are probably right, i just posted this for those who can use it.

ptrck6
05-11-2009, 12:03 AM
I tried three different radios. trying to get one that has the band button so I could hook up an ipod adapter. many dealers don't know how to unlock these RDS radios. Here is the breakdown...


Using a connected Tech2,

1. At the Main Menu screen, select: Diagnostics.

2. At the Vehicle Identification screen, select the following options:

■ Model Year
■ LD Trk, MPV, Incomplete

3. At the System Selection Menu screen, select: Body

4. At the Vehicle Identification screen, select the following:

■ Appropriate model
■ Appropriate Air Conditioning
■ Navigation Radio

5. At the Body Screen, select: Navigation Radio.

6. At the Radio screen, select: Special Functions.

7. At the Special Functions screen, select: VIN Relearn.

8. At the VIN Relearn screen, the scan tool will display "Do you want to clear radio theft information?"

9. To begin clearing, press the soft touch key on the top right of the scan tool. The scan tool will display "Clearing Radio Theft in Progress."

10. Press EXIT on the scan tool and cycle the ignition.

Important:

The radio theft will learn the VIN. Without learning the VIN, the radio will display a locked message (LOC or LOCKED).


Another way is to see if the sound works by installing the radio, and not turning the key to ON, just ACC. that will work the radio for a test.

MichEnvoyBoy
05-11-2009, 10:22 AM
Another way is to see if the sound works by installing the radio, and not turning the key to ON, just ACC. that will work the radio for a test.

That might be my problem right there. When I install the radio and turn it to ACC, the radio turns on and I can change radio stations but get no sound. Looking on the side of the radio, its stamped 2005. My 2002 has the BOSE LUX amplifier and I bet the head unit is unable to communicate to the amp. :undecided

Envoy Fan
05-11-2009, 11:30 AM
That might be my problem right there. When I install the radio and turn it to ACC, the radio turns on and I can change radio stations but get no sound. Looking on the side of the radio, its stamped 2005. My 2002 has the BOSE LUX amplifier and I bet the head unit is unable to communicate to the amp. :undecided

Yes, you have a Bose Lux amp and the radio you have is unable to communicate with it.

MichEnvoyBoy
05-11-2009, 09:41 PM
Thanks for the PM Envoy Fan! :D

I returned the radio today to the seller and received my refund over the weekend.

Im just going to put my INR NAV back in (15204335). Should stick to what I know I guess :bonk:

TransCat
08-09-2009, 07:33 PM
I tried three different radios. trying to get one that has the band button so I could hook up an ipod adapter. many dealers don't know how to unlock these RDS radios. Here is the breakdown...


Using a connected Tech2,

1. At the Main Menu screen, select: Diagnostics.

2. At the Vehicle Identification screen, select the following options:

■ Model Year
■ LD Trk, MPV, Incomplete

3. At the System Selection Menu screen, select: Body

4. At the Vehicle Identification screen, select the following:

■ Appropriate model
■ Appropriate Air Conditioning
■ Navigation Radio

5. At the Body Screen, select: Navigation Radio.

6. At the Radio screen, select: Special Functions.

7. At the Special Functions screen, select: VIN Relearn.

8. At the VIN Relearn screen, the scan tool will display "Do you want to clear radio theft information?"

9. To begin clearing, press the soft touch key on the top right of the scan tool. The scan tool will display "Clearing Radio Theft in Progress."

10. Press EXIT on the scan tool and cycle the ignition.

Important:

The radio theft will learn the VIN. Without learning the VIN, the radio will display a locked message (LOC or LOCKED).


Another way is to see if the sound works by installing the radio, and not turning the key to ON, just ACC. that will work the radio for a test.


hello I have read this very interesting thread and hoping you may help me find some info and help me in understanding how these Bose systems work .
I was at a salvage yard the other day and came across a 2000 Catera with the CD version of the head unit it is a RDS type, This car has been in the salvage yard only about a week with the interior being immaculate I reasoned that the stereo would be in good working condition, so I took out the head unit , the power amplifier(Black box almost the size of a cigar box) a longer silver box that has a sticker on it stating it is an amplifier maybe the signal processing unit, antenna amplifier, and some other cigar box size silver box mounted next to the antenna amp with much of the wiring harness from the rear deck and the harness has wires that go from the antenna amp to this box next to the antenna amp, I have the connectors on the head unit also, I also have the VIN # , my question is how do these components work together, I have not put any battery to them yet as I want to have a better understanding of how this system works and maybe I can figure out a way to make it work all together in another vehicle or make it work without some of the RDS stuff by some rewiring or something, I have some info on it through AllData but it not enough detail to explain why/how it is designed to interface with OBD I got it all at a great price about $50 , any help on understanding the system would be a greatly appreciated, sorry for the long post